The First American Indian Professional Woman Basketball Player

Growing up in a neighborhood filled with older boys, I guess you can say I’ve playing sports for my entire life. We used to ring each others doorbells daily hoping each other could come outside to play, and when we did play, we played for the entire day.

Basketball, baseball, soccer, you name it, we played it. After being taught how to play these sports by the guys, I was always known for being one of the best girl athletes in school. I could catch a ball, as opposed to most other third grade girls, and I was definitely the fastest runner.

While pondering about a topic for another blog post, I thought, “why not talk about sports?” And after browsing, a particular article featured my third grade dream occupation: a professional woman basketball player.

Her name is Tahnee Robinson. She was famous way back in high school- she was McDonald’s and Gatorade’s All American; she was famous in junior college- earning the NJCAA (National Junior Collegiate Athletic association) All American Honors and leading her team to the championships and winning; and then at Nevada University she was named to the first team All-Western Athletic Conference, signed with Nike, and was eventually the 31st picked overall in the draft of the WNBA in April 2011.

In her collegiate career, Robinson scored an average of 22 points per game, averaged about 6 rebounds per game, successfully threw about 42% of her 3-point shots into the hoop, and made about 81% of shots thrown at the free throw line.

Tahnee Robinson is not only the first woman to be drafted to the WNBA from Nevada University, but is more importantly the first American Indian woman professional basketball player.

She truly represents the perfect model for kids. Though she is highly naturally talented, she is known for her incredible work ethic by her coaches. After all, in anything you do, if you don’t work at it, you don’t get very far. After all her hard work and dedication, she’ll be playing with the basketball players she has always watched on TV. Talk about a dream come true.  I cannot wait to watch her on my TV for the next decade.

Source: http://indiancountrytodaymedianetwork.com/2011/04/robinson-indian-in-wnba-history/

Picture: http://cdn2-b.examiner.com/sites/default/files/styles/image_full_width

/hash/ef/8d/ef8d25bee47ac7e668fba3086a2799e6.jpg

About annieais101

I am an 18 year old freshman at the University of Illinois. Driving towards a philosophy major and a music minor, my number one priority right now is school work. However, when I'm not in school or studying for classes, music and my friends are my world. I can't wait to expand this blog and really make it my own! I've never done anything like this before, so it should be fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

